Damalas is one of the smallest villages of Naxos but has a a long tradition. It is located 14 km from Chora on the road to Tragaia at the foot of Lagos Hill or ‘the mountain of the hare’ in the valley of Tragea.
It is renowned for its old olive mill and the traditional pottery produced in the village. The olive mill started its operation around 1850 and continued to operate normally until 1960. In the year 2000 on the initiative of the Village Association it was restored and holds an annual event showcasing the traditional method of olive oil extraction. The village also has a strong tradition in pottery due to much clay in the area and visitors can try their hand at this ancient craft. The pottery workshop of Manolis Lybertas continues a centuries-old tradition.
The church of Agia Irini was built around 1800 and is beautifully and simply adorned.
A tranquil and beautiful village, the peace and quiet of Damala is disturbed only by the sounds of nature.
Sorry, no records were found. Please adjust your search criteria and try again.
Sorry, unable to load the Maps API.